3 Comments

Any photo of nature, but especially trees. They are solid and steady, yet bend to the wind, grow in little increments for years and years, and shelter other living things. Resilient and majestic, as is the love of God.

Expand full comment

A few years ago when I was in a period of intense grief that was difficult to talk about, I would take long walks and recite parts of the poem “On Pain” by Khalil Gibran to myself. I think the idea of grief being a season, of pain being a way of knowing I was alive, kept me going a little bit. These stanzas especially:

“And could you keep your heart in wonder at the daily miracles of your life, your pain would not seem less wondrous than your joy;

And you would accept the seasons of your heart, even as you have always accepted the seasons that pass over your fields.

And you would watch with serenity through the winters of your grief.”

Expand full comment

Mine is a butterfly. Much like a seed experiences darkness & death, so does the caterpillar before the transformation and freedom to take flight as a butterfly.

Expand full comment